California just laid down another another foot in the fight against texting and driving. Effective January 1st, it is now illegal to handle any handheld devices while driving. The new law states that if a driver wants to use a hand held device, the device must be mounted on the car similar to the way GPS Navigation Systems are mounted.
On top of that, drivers are only allowed to activate or deactivate their devices with one finger or with one swipe motion. California is serious.
What does that mean for you?
- For most of CA, you will need a Car Mount for your smartphones (Windshield/Dashboard/Center Console)
- If you use Talk, use GPS or listen to music on your phone while driving, it will have to be mounted
- You may only activate or deactivate your device with one finger or swipe motion
How much trouble will you be in if you get caught?
First offense will be a fine of $20, then a $50 fine for each violation thereafter. However, you may expect to pay more than that after assessments and other fees.
Should you take this seriously?
YES. This is a new law that has been effective since January 1st. The laws intentions are good and are there to help fight against reckless drivers who endanger themselves and others on the road. Most probably won't take the new law seriously yet, but as it becomes more widely known and enforced, you can bet more will follow.
What should you do?
The answer is simple. Buy a car mount and drive safe. We here at Anhem happen to offer some car mounts which abide by the new CA law. You can check it out in our collection. If you don't have one already and you live in CA, it might be a good time to pick one up. Know someone who lives in CA? Share this with them and help them be a safer driver (and not pay the $50 fine). Not all heroes wear capes, but most of them share helpful blogs.